Gay living in and around Dayton, Ohio

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Gay bars in Springfield, Ohio Part 2

Hello blog buds,
In my last post I wrote about Chances Bar in Springfield, Ohio. If you are stuck in Springfield, or want a change of pace, Chances is the best place overall to go.

Springfield also has the Why Not III bar. When I went there on a Saturday night, it had maybe a dozen people. Why Not has a pool table, and a juke box. It has a dance floor, but there was no live music that night.

It would be an ok place to take a gay man (there was one very butch lesbian couple there) if you wanted to talk a little. Because the people there are older, you’re not going to be too swarmed on if you’re there with someone.

Do not go alone unless you are really bold and like them old.

The club is slow. It’s not for young people (you define young) who are not interested in the older set.

The beer is really cold, though, so it has some redeeming qualities. Did not have to pay a cover, either. But to me it was creepy and I only stayed twenty minutes. Sorry, it was that dead.

If anyone knows of more things to do in Springfield, let me know and I will check it out.

Best, Bobby

September 5, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. I think you need to look at The Why Not and Chances again…..I live in Springfield and am in my early 30s and PREFER The Why Not over Chances….My idea of a good time is not spending it with the neighborhood str8 people or the mentally challenged that Chances now attracts…..Few lesbian and gay people there or that stay for any length of time…..Remember the song “where have all the cowboys gone”? Well CHances theme should be “Where have all the lesbians gone”. Seriously though 20 min in The Why Not doesnt cut it or allow you to write an article…It is very diverse and yes older people come in and so do young and everyone in between. There is Karaoke on Friday…Who wants it Th, Fri, and Sat???? You can only listen to the toothless str8 lady belt out country tunes for so long……

    Comment by Bo | September 27, 2008

  2. The Why Not is actually a decent bar to go to if you’re looking to relax and hang out without the hang ups of making sure you have the right shoes on with the right outfit. It’s a neighborhood bar. There are drag shows, free pool on Thursdays ;), and a jukebox. The owner, JR, is one of the friendliest people I have ever met in the gay community. I have seen him actually introduce new people coming into the bar to the people that are more/less the regulars. In going to bars in Dayton and Columbus I’ve never ran into a bartendar that would introduce me to other people in the place because I was there alone. The Why Not is a comfortable place where I think someone can have a pleasant night out if they’re looking to relax and maybe have some intelligent conversation with people.

    Comment by daniel | September 27, 2008

  3. Thanks Daniel and Bo for the comments.

    They motivate me to give the bar another shot. I will let you know how it goes.

    Best

    Comment by rctippy | September 27, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

